Wednesday, 22 August 2012

Waiting On Wednesday (#12)


Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

My chosen upcoming release is:


The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls
Release Date: 28th August 2012
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 352

Synopsis: At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society.Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster—lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he’s not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out…different. Or they don’t’ come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria—even if it means getting a little messy.


This sounds really interesting and it's out in a week so it seemed like a great pick!

What's your "Waiting On Wednesday" pick this week?
Want to participate? Grab the logo, post your own WoW entry on your blog, and leave your link at Breaking the Spine.
 

29 comments:

  1. I haven't seen this book before but from the blurb it sounds really interesting! I hope to find it at the library!

    Great pick!

    Check out my Waiting on Wednesday

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds really good. I really like The Mysterious Benedict Society so i'm looking forward to reading to it.

    Great pick! =D

    Check out my WoW.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've never heard of this book before, but it sounds like it's going to be a great mystery to unravel! I'm not sure what it is with publishers and gates on covers these days, this cover totally reminded me of Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan. Thanks for stopping by my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  4. i ALMOST chose this one this week too! great pick!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks for sharing and visiting The Readers Den. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. This book sounds really good! I love middle grade and I'm excited to read this book! Great choice this week :) Check out my WOW:

    Crystal @ Elegantly Bound Books

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh I didn't know that book it sounds good thanks for sharing :D !
    And thanks for stopping by my blog :).

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds wonderful...thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I've seen this before. Not sure if I put it on my tbr, and not so sure if I might actually read it. I guess I'll keep an eye out for ratings first.
    Great choice! My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  10. This sounds like a really fun book! Thanks for stopping by =)

    ReplyDelete
  11. The blurb seems unexpectedly interesting. Not something that I would pick up immediately.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Ooh I haven't heard of this one before! It sounds great though, I love mysteries like this. Really like the cover too, great pick :).

    ReplyDelete
  13. Synopsis sound really interesting. Great pick :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Yay, Cavendish! I'm not really a MG fan but I loved Claire Legrand when I met her at BEA. Plus, I've had my miniature Cavendish cover (promo card) sitting around since June and it sounds like a really good MG. Thanks so much for sharing and for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
  15. I love novels about weird places, especially schools. Having watched "A Little Princess" last night, I'm particularly inclined to add this to my TBR. Nice one.

    C.J.
    My WOW

    ReplyDelete
  16. This one looks like a great MG read!

    - Jessica @ Book Sake

    ReplyDelete
  17. This sounds interesting! Thanks for dropping by my WoW pick!

    Kate @ Kisskitkatey (WoW)

    ReplyDelete
  18. This book has been getting a lot of buzz lately... I hope it'll be as good as the hype implies. Thanks for stopping by our WoW earlier!

    ReplyDelete
  19. Sounds like a good mystery!!! I love books that take place in an academy. Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Great pick! I have been looking forward to this book for months, it sounds so good!

    Thanks for visiting my post!
    Traci @ The Reading Geek

    ReplyDelete
  21. I've honestly never heard of that one. The cover isn't much intriguing, but then, who knows? Don't judge by the cover, right? ;)

    ReplyDelete
  22. Hah! This sounds cute. :D I love friendships between opposites - they're just so much more interesting than the ones where the characters are so similar that they get lost next to each other. Thanks for stopping by Book Brats yesterday!

    ReplyDelete
  23. YES, Cavendish! I can't wait to read this book, it sounds just wonderful! :D I definitely need to read more fun, adventure-type MG and this sounds like the perfect fit. Great choice for this week! <3

    Sonia

    ReplyDelete
  24. I just love the cover of this book. It's sounds so cool. What a great choice!

    ReplyDelete
  25. I just love the cover of this book. It's sounds so cool. What a great choice!

    ReplyDelete
  26. I just love the cover of this book. It's sounds so cool. What a great choice!

    ReplyDelete
  27. I've heard of this one, good call. Thanks for stopping by and for sharing!

    Scarlett @ Books Before Bed!

    ReplyDelete
  28. YAY! Awesome pick :D I am dying to read this book. <3 It seems so awesome :) Hope my copy will come soon ;p Enjoy it :D
    Thank you for commenting on my WoW. <3
    Love, Carina @ Carina's Books

    ReplyDelete

I really do appreciate all the comments I get. I love hearing from fellow readers. If you have a blog, post a link and I'll pop over. My Blog is an Award Free Zone I appreciate the gesture but I will not be accepting Awards. Thank you for stopping by, remember to come back if you like my posts!